top of page
Search

Silky Pruning Saws

Product of the week - the best pruning saws


Loppers are good for quick cuts, but one of the things they do is crush the wood as they cut it. This can make it hard for the tree to heal over the wound. Trees heal by compartmentalizing a wound and sealing it off. The cleaner the cut, the less damaged wood inside the tree, the less wound spot for potential diseases and the faster it will heal. Also make sure your cuts are done right - just above the branch collar/flare. This allows for faster healing.


For cuts larger than about 2 inches, the ideal way isn't to use loppers, and definitely not a chainsaw, but rather a pruning saw. The good news is, these saws are so amazing that they will make the cut feel EASY. This is NOT like using a handsaw. These things are purpose built for this, and they cut through it like butter.


I have 2 different sizes that I have had, and 2 that I want. I have tried them all though. For my opinion, Silky saws are the Stihl or Husqvarna of Pruning saws. I will likely only ever own a Silky saw.


All of these saws have incredible steel (the steel specs are stamped right on the blade), and the steel goes right back to the base of the handle. This is so incredibly important for knives and saws alike - for durability. If you want 1 tool for pruning, get the loppers I recommended earlier.


If you want to get more serious, are planting many trees, and want to maximize their survival after prunes, then a good pruning saw is an absolute must.


Silky F180mm: A good small saw, quick and light and easy to use. 180mm, or 7 inches, it can cut quite large branches. Since it's shorter, it means more back and forth on larger branches, but still a great saw. A great entry point, but high quality pruning saw. US: https://amzn.to/2NiOsL4 CA: https://amzn.to/38BqstS


Silky Gomboy 240mm: One step up from the F140, this 240 is 9.5 inches long. A little heavier, but longer blade means more depth to the cut per arc. I.e. a cleaner cut with less work. US: https://amzn.to/3qNW9Gx CA: https://amzn.to/3tfg9n9



Silky Bigboy 2000, 360mm: US: https://amzn.to/38BpYE4

Silky Katana Boy: 500mm: CA: https://amzn.to/3rKrqvy


Okay these are for the very serious, but this is on my Christmas wishlist. The Katana 500mm (19 inch) is longer than most chainsaws, and can cut trees up to about 10 inches in diameter. I think having a chainsaw is ideal, but it's always nice to have a backup, and this is something that I personally have cut a 10 inch tree down with. That's a big tree btw. I couldn't believe how easy it was. This is a great saw for when your trees get large and you may need to top them from a ladder. This saw does get a bit heavier, but it is still very useable for a strong/young man, but just be cautious if you are older or more concerned with using something this big. It's literally a samurai katana blade with a saw edge.


And for full disclosure, I have owned only the first 2 but used the last 2, and want one of them. I will never recommend something I don't own and/or use. I would never recommend something I wouldn't buy myself. And if you click on the links above, you don't spend an extra cent, but anything you buy (even if not these) if you start from those links you support the channel through the affiliate program. Thanks all, happy Gardening, Keith

120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page