top of page
Search

My favorite pruning loppers

Product of the week review - my favorite pruning loppers. These product of the week reviews are a great way to support the channel by spending no extra money than you would otherwise. Even if you don't want these products, if you start with the links below and go buy a phone charging cord, it helps support my channel.


Okay so why pruning loppers?


I do a whole lot of pruning, so investing in a good set of loppers is really important. Now that being said, I try to do most cuts with a pruning saw (which will be coming up next). Small branches should be cut with a nice pair of bypass handheld loppers (which will be coming up soon after). So although bypass loppers can be less damaging to a live branch (this is not as big of a deal as some may suggest, but that's just my opinion), nothing beats a geared anvil design lopper for pure strength.


These loppers will cut through a 2 inch branch like butter, and I've even used it on upwards of 3 inch branches (on trees I didn't necessarily care about, such as dead wood). Speaking of dead wood, not much will cut through it like these.


So although you are best using a pruning saw for larger diameter branches, and handheld pruners for small ones, if you are going to not "be perfect" and have 3-4 different pruning tools, then this is the one you want.


The reason this is such a good buy is that reafing on loppers is actually a really good way to throw out your rear rotator cuff (ask me how I know, I'm an ex baseball player). I can feel the pain when I perform that motion too hard. Any extra mechanical advantage from a smart gear or ratchet design is very welcomed by myself (or a senior/woman with lower strength), but don't underestimate the injury prevention aspect. Well worth the investment to buy a good pair of lopping pruners if you ask me.


I have also been HARD on these. Of note, I was lopping off a branch on an apple tree and cut into some barbed wire fence that I didn't realize was growing INSIDE the tree. Well, I damaged my pruners pretty bad. I hammered out the damage, then resharpened them, and they have still been amazing 4 years later. Definitely highly recommend these. If you want to be a pruning master, then also buy a good pruning saw, and good handheld pruners, but if you are going to buy ONE tool and just give'er, then this is what you want.


And remember, if you start your shopping from any of my links below, then even if you go and buy Game of Thrones season 8 (because you are some kind of sick sadist), then it still helps my channel, just by STARTING your shopping at the relevant link:


Amazon Canada: https://amzn.to/3aWFb4o



Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/3uxL4g1 (not the exact pair, but the closest I could find)


Amazon FR: https://amzn.to/3kyazcv (same)



Thanks everyone, we are almost there. It's almost spring. I can FEEL it. Counting down the days...

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page